messing about in boats

Big Yellow Batteries

Posted in General Boating Stuff by Joseph Moore on March 25, 2010

I’m going to be needing a battery for the boat sometime soon. Funds are tight so I’m hesistant to just spend the £100 or so on even a regular cheapo leisure battery. There might be a solution though, I remember some guys on the Talk Audio forums discussing “big yellow batteries” a few years ago. I think they were designed to be used in a backup bank or forklift truck, so they were rather large and a good 25% heavier than the usual brand name models. Still, they were going for £10 each at the time and even with the price of lead going up I think they’re still around for under £25. That makes them a seriously attractive alternative. I’m going to track down the supplier and see how I get on…

Leave a Reply

