messing about in boats

Happy Birthday To Me

Posted in Everything Else by Joseph Moore on November 23, 2009

I turned the grand old age of 26 today. Sarah and I took a trip to see the sea, got blown around the Naze at Walton and stopped off at Brightlingsea on the way back. Very windy and a bit damp at times but nice to get some salty air and watch the boats bobbing around on their moorings.

Brightlingsea’s changed a lot since I was last there maybe 10 years ago. There’s now a huge great “marina” development next to the old town slipway. It looks very nice but I’m a little dubious of the U-shaped harbour squeezed in between the apartment blocks: It was southerly facing and not entirely sheltered.

Still, there was a cute little Corribee called ‘Elektra’ tucked away in the corner being thoroughly dwarfed by some shiny wine-tasting platforms with masts and the usual plethora of old wooden boats tucked away in boat sheds and hidden under tarps.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. my2fish said, on November 25, 2009 at 3:05 am

    happy (late) birthday! I turned 30 this year… it didn’t seem that significant, but I try not to dwell on it either. does make me focus on trying to get more pro-active with sailing my Sunfish… I feel like I’ve missed out on a lot of fun years I could have been playing with it. getting to sail on your birthday is a great gift!

    cheers, my2fish

  2. The other messing about said, on November 25, 2009 at 3:16 am

    OK, this is is spooky our birthdays are separated by a day. Well 20 years and 1 day to be precise but all the same.

    my2fish spotted this. Thanks Man

  3. messing about said, on November 25, 2009 at 3:18 am

    And happy birthday by the way

  4. my2fish said, on November 25, 2009 at 3:26 am

    okay, hate to double-comment hear, but this was strange. I’m a bit behind on reading some blogs, so am catching up tonight, and read about your birthday. I continued to my next blog, and it was their birthday, too. here’s where it gets strange – the “messing about in sailboats” blogger’s birthday is the day before yours! crazy, huh?!
    http://messingaboutinboats.typepad.com/sailing/2009/11/birthday-firsts.html

  5. messingaboutinboats said, on November 25, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Thanks guys, and happy birthday Adam!

  6. bowsprite said, on November 26, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Happy Birthday, MessingAboutinBoats!
    (hey! sharp looking theme here for yer blog!)


Leave a Reply

