messing about in boats

Boat Sketching

Posted in General Boating Stuff by Joseph Moore on October 29, 2009

I’ve been hanging out on the boat design forums a bit lately. I find how boats are made immensely interesting – always have done. When I was a kid I used to make sketch after sketch of boat plans on my mum’s endless supply of graph paper. Classic gaff-rigged smacks, freestyle kayaks, narrowboats, anything really. It usually depended where I’d been on holiday that summer as to which style of boats were inspiring me at the time. It’s a shame, I don’t think I’ve got any of them still. Not that they were any more than (very neatly drawn) rough sketches.

Maybe I missed my calling in life?

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bowsprite said, on November 26, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    post some, please! guess it’s time to make new ones, yes?

    • messingaboutinboats said, on November 26, 2009 at 5:11 pm

      I don’t think I’ve got any unfortunately, unless mum’s squirrelled them away somewhere. Maybe I’ll get back to drawing and dreaming one day soon.


Leave a Reply

