messing about in boats

Another Buccaneer 24 Video

Posted in Sailing by Joseph Moore on October 17, 2009

This is a really good video for anyone interested in the Buccaneer 24 Trimaran designed by Lock Crowther (What a cool name! Sounds like a pirate… actually I believe he’s an aircraft engineer). I’ve become a little obsessed with these simple little cruising trimarans lately, but haven’t got a hope in hell of seeing one in the flesh as I don’t know of any here in the UK.

Study plans and photos can only tell you so much and this video really fills in the gaps about how everything goes together, how big it is, how it sails, where useful places to keep stuff are etc.

I’m warning you now though, if you’re not curious about any of that, you’ll be bored to tears.

Got a real itch to build one now – I guess I have since I saw a couple of small trimarans anchored in the shallows off the south beach at Studland Bay earlier this summer. It just seemed a much more preferable way of arriving than the big yachts and motor cruisers way out in the bay, all struggling to get their tenders out to come ashore. The guy simply took his shoes and socks off, hopped off the back and paddled onto the beach to get an ice cream from the hut.

Arguably I could spend probably a lot less money and buy something that needs a refit, but nothing I can afford will have much space or speed. The Westerly 22 for sale not far from me is a prime example – it’s in reasonable nick, decent sized cabin, fairly seaworthy and strong little yacht – the sensible choice, but it just doesn’t excite me. Ok, speed isn’t everything, but it is useful to extend your cruising grounds and scare your friends.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Henrique Lopes said, on September 5, 2012 at 2:15 am

    Very funny your stories… I’m from Brazil and I helped my uncle on assembly of “Buccaneer Rio” (24), that´s he´s name.It was a fifty-fifty commitment and recently I bought my uncle’s part and became alone on taking care of the boat, what is very tough job cause he is West system made. Wood is always a problem ..

    The design was built one year before I was born and the construction stage took 24 years.

    My suggestion is to work as close as possible to your home. Preferable, choose your backyard!! It takes time …

    If you want to sail, come to Rio …

    Best regards,
    Henrique


Leave a Reply

