messing about in boats

Ah, the angle grinder

Posted in Boat Building & Maintenance by Joseph Moore on December 15, 2010

That most favoured tool of the DIY boat builder. I took mine to the front of my boat this weekend. Time was short so I figured a rough and ready job is better than no job at all. Ground the repairs back a few millimetres, filled, roughly faired then glassed over them. It was cold so the resin will probably bloom, but it’s more of a covering layer than a structural layer on the bits I did, so not to worry really. It’s progress.

I also repositioned one of the struts I’d fitted as when I was sitting on the pontoon I noticed the bow roller was at a rather jaunty angle. Took it off and lined everything up by eye. I think I’m going to glass over the whole lot then refit the roller. Give that stem some proper weather protection on it’s end.

Still need to deck over the front, cut out the (largely rotten) front bulkhead – glass everything on the inside and reinforce the whole lot. At least once the deck’s on it’s mostly working inside where a fan heater actually does something.

More snow forecast across the UK for this week – not an ideal time for working on boats.

Dare I say it: it’d be nice to take part in the Red Funnel Easter Regatta. Now there’s a deadline.

Tagged with:

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. M. Payne said, on January 25, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Hi mate, just to let you know that if you wanted bit more info/history On NT I was a previous owner for some time so might be of help. Nice though to see her getting some much needed attention, she’s an awesome boat to sail well worth the effort. Dunno much about these blogs do you get sent info of the comment sender? Well anyway good luck for that deadline! Mike.

  2. Hilary Payne said, on January 25, 2011 at 4:43 am

    If you want to know anything about history etc. do ask, my husband does know a fair bit about it as he sailed with the owner he brought it from. She has had a few new keels from what I could gather before my husband brought her. When we sold her, from the Hamble, in Spring 2009 she indeed had a 5′ keel. Infact I sat under her again (after vowing to never to do it again) in the Summer of 2008 to grind the rust off and coat it ready to move the boat round in the Autumn and the pictures do look like she is missing part of her keel. She is a joy to sail once the work is done!
    I have some photos of her in the 5 years we had her if you e-mail me your address I’m happy to send them on.

  3. dave downworth said, on July 4, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    lol i owned her s well lol brought her of hilary in hamble did do a lot of work on her my frist project ,think i failed lost a frortune had her for a year have loads of pics of her


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

